St Enodoc

Welcome to the chapel of St Enodoc

Then roller into roller curled
And thundered down the rocky bay,

And we were in a water world
Of rain and blizzard, sea and spray,
And one against the other hurled
We struggled round to Greenaway.
Blesséd be St Enodoc, blesséd be the wave,
Blesséd be the springy turf, we pray, pray to thee…
John Betjeman: Trebetherick

stenodoc-royreed

Once almost buried in the sands, the chapel now stands amid the fairways of St. Enodoc Golf Course. Overshadowed by Brea Hill, and nestling among the sand dunes above Daymer Bay, this charming chapel comes as unexpected find for many visitors. It is an ancient place of worship that continues today to offer sanctuary, worship and prayer to all who are willing to make the trek along the footpaths between the fairways. Sometimes dodging golf balls, other times battling Atlantic gales – a visit to St Enodoc is never straightforward, ever different, and always a delight.

Since its renovation in the 19th century this chapel has found a particular place in the affections of countless people, both visitors and residents alike. The former Poet Laureate, Sir John Betjeman was particularly fond of it and he lies buried in the churchyard.

History

St. Enodoc, a chapel in the parish of St Minver, stands, enigmatically, among the sand dunes above Daymer Bay. It is overshadowed by Brea Hill and is nowadays surrounded by the fairways of the St. Enodoc Golf Course. Why this charming chapel is here is a mystery. That it is an ancient place of worship is without doubt, some of the architecture can be traced back to the 12th century. It is mentioned in a list of the chapels dependant upon St Minver in 1299.

Since its renovation in 1864 this chapel has found a particular place in the affections of countless people, both visitors and residents alike. Sir John Betjeman was particularly fond of it and he lies buried in the churchyard.

TO VIEW THE CURRENT NEWSLETTER AND DETAILS OF SERVICES CLICK HERE

St Enodoc continues to be a place of prayer, and reflection only through the voluntary work of many people. We are grateful to the work of our churchwardens, organists, flower arrangers, and many more to ensure that St Enodoc continues to be a living and beautiful witness to the Christian faith.

Others, who are unable to give of their time or skills, help support us by praying and worshipping with us, by attending and supporting events and concerts, and through financial contributions to collections or our Friends organization.

Please contact any of the clergy, churchwardens or readers if you are able to offer support to us in any way and help ensure that this holy place continues to offer sanctuary for future generations of residents and visitors.

 

The Friends of St Minver

Welcome to all who wish to support the church and chapel buildings of St Minver, St Enodoc and St Michael’s Porthilly.

Contact: Dawn Lawrence, tel. 01208 869084, dlawrence@ictconnect.co.uk

Facilities at St Enodoc

opening-icons Daily from 7.30am until dusk.
disabled-icons No direct access for vehicles. About a ten minute walk along footpaths from Daymer Bay or
other golf course paths.
parking-icons Nearest car park at Daymer Bay (paying).
heating-icons Heating During winter services.

Leave a Reply